What is gluten?
Gluten is an insoluble protein fraction present in some cereals, obtained after spending flour underwater. It is composed of proteins, fatty acids and sugar, and is with the largest part of the energy reserve of the grain starch. These two insoluble proteins, gliadin and glutenin (for wheat), which give the dough its elastic properties and bakery and bread products their chewy texture.
Did you know ?
Gluten Gluten term comes from classical Latin meaning “glue, glue, eraser”.
The problem is that gluten is sometimes poorly tolerated by the body. If you suffer from recurring digestive problems, you should consult a doctor so that you diagnosis. You may be hypersensitive or intolerant to gluten. The best way to live a good celiac disease (medical name gluten intolerance) is to eliminate its consumption of gluten, depending on your tolerance level, and thus to know the foods that contain them.
What foods contain gluten?
Gluten is found in some cereals. There is a mémotechnique way to remember the five major grains that contain it, thanks to the word SHOE:
B: Wheat (wheat, kamut, spelled …)
T: triticale (hybrid cereal rye and wheat).
Gluten is found in most flours and therefore in foods prepared from flour:
– Bakery products (bread, sandwich breads, cookies, pastries, buns, pancakes, waffles, muffins, donuts …)
– Most cereals for breakfast,
– Malted beers
– Quantity of prepared meals (pizzas, quiches, breaded meats and fish …)
– Sauces, soups and desserts associated with wheat flour,
– Some seasonings and condiments.
One can also find gluten in other foods: sausages, pâtés, sausages, soy sauce, surimi, icing sugar, garlic powder, some natural and artificial flavorings based malt aroma …
Carefully read the ingredients list
Industrial clearly indicate the presence of gluten in their products on the market. In the list of ingredients are shown in bold to facilitate reading. Intolerant people should therefore carefully read